About Me

img_9650I figured the best way to start off was to write a post about myself, as much as I’d sooner get to the fun part! I’ve always been eager to start a blog, though it certainly proved to be a far more difficult endeavour than I first expected- although it was mostly coming up with a name that was the hard part. For those of you that don’t know me, my name is Jodie and I am an 18-year-old Fashion Marketing student from Northampton- but here are some more facts about me:

  • I take photos- A lot. As an avid fan of Instagram (follow me @jodiedkeig) and Pinterest, I am always on the lookout for anything beautiful. Whilst it’s mostly become a hobby since starting university, I doubt I’ll ever stop capturing the world around me. It’s difficult to find a time when I don’t take my camera with me!img_1391
  • I love fashion. It’s utterly cliché to say I have a passion for it- who doesn’t? – but I have always been enamoured with fashion and the sheer creativity of the industry. Initially I did want to become a costume designer (or an astronaut…an archaeologist…a furniture restorer…an illustrator), but as of late I’ve decided that fashion is one-hundred-percent the thing that I want to pursue. I’ve always been a creative person, but when I realised my sewing skills probably weren’t the best I found myself more drawn to fashion illustration, photography and (obviously) blogging.

img_8189

(Above is my final piece from A-Level- it’s probably about the only thing I ever made that fitted!)

  • I draw inspiration from many different places, and what I’m into does change on a weekly basis, but at the moment the things that are most inspiring to me include: the entire Gucci aesthetic under Alessandro Michele (the clothes are so gorgeous), the styles of both the 1920s and the 1960s, and all the dreamy sets and costumes from films (The Great Gatsby, the 1996 Romeo and Juliet to name a few).moodboard2.jpg
  • Speaking of films, I am a bit of a film nerd. This mostly extends to any sort of Disney film and the Marvel movies, but some of my other favourites are David Bowie’s Labyrinth and The Devil Wears Prada. And I can’t forget musicals- Wicked is without a doubt my absolute favourite!

And that’s about it! Hopefully you’ll all enjoy my posts, even if I can ramble a little bit, but I’m excited to see just how this blogging stuff turns out.

-Jodie

One thought on “About Me

Leave a Reply

