New York, New York (So Good They Named it Twice)

I think it’s safe to say that my trip to New York perhaps wasn’t what I expected, at least to start with. I arrived in the city that never sleeps feeling nauseous and jet-lagged, to the extent that I was almost prepared to go straight back home again after a tedious seven-hour flight across the Atlantic. Thankfully, a few days later, I was truly able to enjoy the experience. I’ve seen a quote floating about on Pinterest before that was supposedly from Carrie Bradshaw: “When I first moved to New York I bought Vogue instead of dinner. I just felt it fed me more.” That was partly true for me- mostly because I felt like I couldn’t eat for two days straight, and was determined to get my hands on an issue of American Vogue as a souvenir. But, traumatic travel experiences aside, the trip was truly wonderful. Here is a very brief account of my little American adventure:

ny4

After a relaxed evening spent in the hotel on Saturday night, on Sunday morning the sightseeing began. We started off by visiting the Museum of Natural History, a place which I was thrilled to visit, not only because of it being so recognisable from the ‘Night at the Museum’ movies, but also because I used to adore dinosaurs when I was little (and that excitement clearly hasn’t gone away in the slightest!). It was a beautiful day, and seeing Central Park for the first time was utterly amazing.

Our next stop was the Metropolitan Museum of Art. Before the trip, I very quickly decided that visiting it was a must, especially when it came to seeing the Masterworks: Unpacking Fashion exhibition at the Anna Wintour Costume Centre. The pieces on display were absolutely beautiful, and I particularly loved the Viktor and Rolf ballgown from their Spring/Summer 2010 collection, especially when I fell in love with their slightly more recent Spring 2017 couture collection when it was shown a few weeks ago. It was also amazing to see pieces by legends such as Worth, Chanel and Schiaparelli in person after reading about them for my course, and the mixture of garments both historical and contemporary made the exhibition incredibly interesting to see.

After wandering around the museums, we went in search of the Alice in Wonderland statue elsewhere in Central Park. Understandably it is a highly sought after opportunity for a photo or two, and you can clamber right up on to the mushrooms to sit beside Alice and the Mad Hatter. We then took a walk through the park, and with evening falling the city looked absolutely stunning.

On Monday and Tuesday, our trip was taken up by study tours (we were there because of university, after all!). They were all absolutely invaluable experiences, and we got to hear from industry experts at companies such as WGSN, Cone Denim and Rent the Runway (which, in short, is absolute heaven for anyone who loves fashion), as well as many others.

ny15

A standout visit was our trip to M&S Schmalberg on Tuesday, a company that makes custom fabric flowers from (literally) every fabric imaginable. They have been in the industry for over 100 years, and their flowers have been featured in magazines and on runways for designers such as Chanel and Marchesa.  You can even design your own flower crown there, but for myself I bought a beautiful pale blue rose for $10, which is featured in the image below:

1.png

The following day, we were up bright and early ready to visit the Top of the Rock. This was something I was really looking forward to, especially when the uppermost floors offer a completely unobstructed view of the entire city, from Central Park to the Empire State Building.

On the same day, we also found ourselves at Grand Central Station and the 9/11 memorial. I hadn’t expected Grand Central  to be such a beautiful building, and I fell in love with the turquoise ceilings that were painted with stars and constellations (I’d be a liar if I said I didn’t consider doing something similar in my bedroom!). Visiting Ground Zero was another experience entirely, and it was incredibly surreal standing at what is now such an iconic location knowing that what happened there completely changed the world.

Thursday was our final full day in the city, and we took a somewhat more relaxed approach and took a short visit to the Central Park Zoo. I had initially expected it to be far larger, but it was a quiet, beautifully sunny morning and I thoroughly enjoyed it. Although many of the animals were asleep (who could blame them), it was amazing seeing the wildlife up close.

ny24

Although what I’ve written here doesn’t even begin to cover just how much we did and how amazing an experience it was, and there are hundreds more photos than those that I’ve featured here (follow me on Instagram for more of my photography), I hope that you have enjoyed my little glimpse into my week in New York city!

jodie

2.png

Leave a Reply

